Watch the European Rugby Champions Cup and European Rugby Challenge Cup pool draws live on at 12 noon on Tuesday June 10.

What is the European Rugby Champions Cup?

The Champions Cup is Europe’s new premier club competition - think if it as rugby's version of football's Champions League.

Like its predecessor the Heineken Cup, it features the best sides from England, France, Ireland, Italy, Scotland and Wales and will crown the best club in the northern hemisphere.

Who is taking part?

The competing teams will be drawn from the three major European Leagues – the Aviva Premiership in England, the Top 14 in France and the RaboDirect PRO12 that features sides from Ireland, Italy, Scotland and Wales.

How have they qualified?

Tuesday's competition draw will feature 20 teams that have qualified as follows:

The top six sides from the 2013-14 Aviva Premiership - Saracens, Northampton Saints, Leicester Tigers, Harlequins, Bath Rugby, Sale Sharks.

The top six sides from the 2013-14 Top 14 – Toulon, Montpellier, Clermont Auvergne, Toulouse, Racing Metro, Castres.

The highest finishing sides from each country in the 2013-14 RaboDirect PRO12, regardless of position in the table - Leinster (Ireland), Glasgow (Scotland), Ospreys (Wales) and Treviso (Italy).

The next three highest placed sides in the 2013-14 RaboDirect PRO12 table not already qualified – Munster, Ulster, Scarlets.

But that only adds up to 19?

Correct. For the first season of the new competition, the 20th team came from a play-off between the seventh placed side in the 2013-14 Aviva Premiership (London Wasps) and the corresponding side from the 2013-14 Top 14 (Stade Francais Paris). London Wasps qualified with a 50-35 aggregate victory in the two-legged play-off.

In future seasons, the 20th team playoff will be extended to include the eighth- and ninth-highest finishing clubs from the PRO12. The Premiership and Top 14 sides will host the semi-finals with the victors progressing to the playoff final with the venue for that game decided by a draw.

From next season, if the reigning European Rugby Challenge Cup winner has not already qualified through its finishing position in its league, it will participate in the playoff by taking a place given to its league.

How will the draw work?

The 20 clubs will be divided into four tiers of five based on their qualification positions from their respective leagues. A draw will be conducted in advance to establish Tier 1 with two of the three second-ranked clubs - Northampton Saints, Castres Olympique and Glasgow Warriors - joining Saracens, Toulon and Leinster in the top tier.

Once Tier 1 has been established, the remaining three tiers will fall into place. Then the draw for the five pools will be made, and during the draw, some clubs may have to be placed directly into a pool in order to ensure that certain key principles apply. In Tier 4, Sale Sharks and London Wasps will be drawn into pools which contain one other Aviva Premiership club, and Toulouse will be drawn into a pool which contains one other Top 14 club.

Each of the five pools will have at least one club from each of the three leagues. Each of the five pools will have one club from each of the four tiers. There will be no more than two clubs from the same league in a pool. No pool will contain two PRO12 clubs from the same country. Clubs from the same league will be kept apart until the allocation of the Tier 4 clubs.

OK. But how will the title be decided?

The qualifiers will play every other team in their Pool home and away (six matches). The five Pool winners and the three best runners-up will qualify for the quarter-finals. The quarter-finals will be played at the home venues of the four best Pool winners. The venues for the semi-finals and the final are yet to be confirmed.

Why is the draw taking place in Switzerland?

The resolution to the long-running row about the future of European club rugby resulted in the formation of a new association - European Professional Club Rugby (EPCR). The EPCR, that is responsible for organising and managing the Cup Competitions, has chosen the Swiss city of Neuchâtel as its base.

When will the action take place?

The competition will take centre stage on nine weekends throughout the season. The Pool phase will be played in three blocks of two weekends and will be completed by the end of January. The final will take place on the first weekend of May at the latest.

Will I be able to watch on TV?

Yes. Coverage of the competition will be shared by BT Sport and Sky Sports.

In the pool phase, BT Sport will have first pick of those matches involving teams from the Aviva Premiership. As a result, you will be able follow the fortunes of English rugby’s leading clubs every week of the season on BT Sport and not only on TV but also via the BT Sport App and the website.

Both broadcasters will show two quarter-finals each, one semi-final each and the final will be broadcast by both live.

What about those teams that haven’t qualified for the Champions Cup?

Don’t worry. The European Challenge Cup will keep them busy having filled the void left by the now defunct Amlin Challenge Cup.

The 20 competing teams will be drawn from not only the Premiership, Top 14 and PRO12 but also an additional qualifying competition with the aim of boosting the game in developing nations.

The draw for this competition will also take place on Tuesday.

So who will be playing in those competitions?

The five remaining sides from the Aviva Premiership - Exeter Chiefs, Gloucester Rugby, London Irish, Newcastle Falcons and newly promoted London Welsh.

The six remaining sides from the Top 14 – Stade Francais Paris, Bordeaux, Brive, Bayonne, Grenoble and Oyonnax plus the two promoted sides Lyon and La Rochelle.

The five remaining sides from the PRO12 – Cardiff Blues, Edinburgh, Newport Gwent Dragons, Connacht and Zebre.

The remaining two sides will qualify via a yet-to-be-played qualifying competition that will be organised by FIRA-AER (Fédération Internationale de Rugby Amateur-Association Européenne de Rugby) who are responsible for governing European rugby outside the top tier.

When will those game be played?

The European Challenge Cup will take place on the same weekends as the Champions Cup.

And when is the draw again?

You will be able to watch the draws for both the European Rugby Champions Cup and the European Rugby Challenge Cup right here on on Tuesday June 10 with coverage starting at 12 noon.