Watch Hull City's Premier League campaign on BT Sport and watch the Tigers in the FA Cup.

Things looked so promising in May when Mohamed Diame’s late winner in the play-off final beat Sheffield Wednesday to secure an instant return to the Premier League.

However, even back then there were dark clouds on the horizon that hinted at the storm Hull City would face this summer. Assem Allam, the club’s owner, is seriously ill and the day to day running of the club has been left to his son, Ehab Allam.

Unfortunately Ehab did not get on at all well with manager Steve Bruce and the former Manchester United defender quit three weeks before the opening game with Leicester City.

The club’s squad is painfully thin – at one stage Bruce claimed to have only 10 fit senior players on his books – and unless something dramatically changes an instant return to the Championship beckons.

Reasons to be cheerful:

The cynic would say the parachute payments next season are very generous, although other fans would point to rumours of an American takeover as the best hope of securing survival.

Reasons to be fearful:

Where do you start? The club are presently without a manager have lost Mohamed Diame to Newcastle.  Michael Dawson is expected to be out until November while it is unlikely Moses Odubajo, Allan McGregor and Alex Bruce will be seen this side of Christmas.

Major signings:

Jonathan Edwards (Peterborough, free), Will Mannion (AFC Wimbledon, compensation)

Out the door:

Mohamed Diame (Newcastle, £4.5m), Max Clark (Cambridge, loan), Ben Clappison (York, free), Sone Aluko (released), Ryan Taylor (released).

Key man:

Abel Hernández – The striker bagged 20 goals in the Championship last season and looks like being Hull’s biggest threat again this time around.

One to watch:

Andrew Robertson – The 22-year-old Scotland international has been linked with a number of big clubs already this transfer window. Will be keen to show he can make the step up to Premier League level.

Title odds:


Relegation odds:


First five games:

Leicester City (H), Swansea City (A), Manchester United (H), Burnley (A), Arsenal (H).

Click on your favourite club's name below for BT Sport's full preview:

Arsenal, Bournemouth, Burnley, Chelsea, Crystal Palace, Everton, Hull City, Leicester City, Liverpool, Manchester City, Manchester United, Middlesbrough, Southampton, Stoke City, Sunderland, Swansea City, Tottenham Hotspur, Watford, West Bromwich Albion, West Ham United

Four Competitions, One Venue campaign