Upgrade to BT Sport

To view this content you need to upgrade your subscription from BT Sport Lite to BT Sport Pack.

Click here to get BT Sport now

England duo Eoin Morgan and Jason Roy sign up for South African T20 competition

Former England batsman Kevin Pietersen was also named as one of eight ‘marquee’ internationals.

CRICKET 13/04/17 12:41
England duo Eoin Morgan and Jason Roy sign up for South African T20 competition

England limited-overs captain Eoin Morgan and opener Jason Roy are both set to take part in Cricket South Africa’s new domestic Twenty20 competition over the next two years.

Morgan, Roy and Kevin Pietersen were the three England-qualified players named on Thursday among eight ‘marquee’ internationals who have signed up already to enter a draft for the franchise tournament scheduled to take place in November.

They will be joined by Dwayne Bravo, Kieron Pollard and Chris Gayle from West Indies, Sri Lanka’s Lasith Malinga and former New Zealand captain Brendon McCullum.

Morgan and Roy are currently involved in the Indian Premier League, rather than the start of the new domestic season in this country, as the England and Wales Cricket Board increasingly favours stints in high-profile Twenty20 competitions around the world for several of its players.

CSA chief executive Haroon Lorgat said: “We are thrilled by the calibre of the top eight international players we have lined up to participate in our new T20 League. They are all stars in their own right and will add great value to the franchise teams they will represent.”

South Africa-born Pietersen added: “I am delighted to have signed for the new Global Destination T20 tournament. South Africa, as everyone knows, is very close to my heart – so being a part of something innovative in their cricketing structure really excites me.”